Tag Archives: Adult

Cover Reveal – Dare Me Forever

Standard
Dare Me Forever
Paige Edward
Publication date: April 2013
Genre: Romantic Erotica
 
   ———————————————————————————————————————————————————————
Synopsis:

daremeforever

It’s the beginning of her new life . . .

Twenty-three year old Amy Miller has been responsible for her little brother ever since their dad dropped dead and their mom took off seven years ago. Now that her brother is eighteen, Amy’s ready to fulfill her dream of opening her own Stationary Store. She’s ready to start a new life.

But the past has a way of sneaking up on you . . .

Then an old friend comes back to town–Amy’s high school boyfriend, Brad Smith, to be exact. The same guy who dropped her a week before prom, leaving her a sobbing mess in a sequined Jovani dress. The same gorgeous man who now wants Amy back and won’t take no for an answer.

And the future has a way of getting complicated . . .

But when Amy meets Cliff Anderson, an irresistible Brit and powerful businessman tied to Brad’s company, their instant attraction and chemistry awakens a passion in her she never knew existed. Brad won’t let go of her so easily, though, intent on seducing her yet again. Suddenly Amy is torn between her incredible first love and the most distracting man she has ever known.

*Ages 17 plus, due to sexual situations and mature content*

   ———————————————————————————————————————————————————————
<a id=”rc-73e2a70″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/73e2a70/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

   ———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

AUTHOR BIO (no photo provided)
I’m a romance reader and writer with my first book DARE ME FOREVER (April, 2013). I love sweet, steamy, happy endings! And complicated men.  I live in Southern California with my husband and children.
Author links:
Advertisements

Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood #7) J. R. Ward

Standard

Lover Avenged by J. R. WARD

Publisher: NAL Hardcover

Release Date: April 28th 2009

Pages: 527

Adult

Rating: 4

J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood novels have introduced readers to a “different, creative, dark, violent, and flat-out amazing” (All About Romance)world. Now, as the vampire warriors defend their race against their slayers, one male’s loyalty to the Brotherhood will be tested-and his dangerous mixed blood revealed…

Caldwell, New York, has long been the battleground for the vampires and their enemies, the Lessening Society. It’s also where Rehvenge has staked out his turf as a drug lord and owner of a notorious night club that caters to the rich and heavily armed. His shadowy reputation is exactly why he’s approached to kill Wrath, the Blind King and leader of the Brotherhood.

Rehvenge has always kept his distance from the Brotherhood-even though his sister is married to a member, for he harbors a deadly secret that could make him a huge liability in their war against the lessers. As plots within and outside of the Brotherhood threaten to reveal the truth about Rehvenge, he turns to the only source of light in his darkening world, Ehlena, a vampire untouched by the corruption that has its hold on him-and the only thing standing between him and eternal destruction.”

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Expectations: I was really looking forward to reading more about Revhenge. He was always so mysterious in the previous books. I was interested to see who Ward picked to be his mate.

My Thoughts: First, I will try not to put to many spoilers but I mean…it’s the seventh book. You are warned. Okay moving on, I really enjoyed this one. “The king, must die.” The first sentence in the 527 page book. I couldn’t put this book down. The story just kept rolling and I really enjoyed the pace of it. I loved Lover Awakened with Zsadist, and I loved all the characters related/around him. (Bella and in turn Revhenge) He is such a powerful male and I loved his story. I like that in this book it gave you more insight to Wrath and Beth. (I enjoyed the first book with Wrath as well.) This is in my top three for this series. 1,2, and 7.

So the characters. I loved Revhenge. He is so powerful yet in a way weak at the same time. He kept searching for acceptance but couldn’t find it. Until he met Ehlena. (Loved her in this book as well.) Ehlena is a troubled female, dealing with her father being ill and working all the time at Haver’s clinic. She meets Revhenge when he come in to get his meds from Havers and none of the nurses ever want to be around him. Nonetheless, Ehlena volunteers. From there, their relationship has started. As usual, the relationship is flip flop and then it builds. The complexness of both of these characters lives is just…wow. I loved all surrounding Revhenge. All the badassness just made him seem so much cooler. (That and I wanted to get more into Sympaths.)

I felt like this book moved more into the plot than just with Rev’s and Ehlena’s relationship. I like that Wrath and Beth and the brother’s were still involved even though Revhenge is not a brother. Also, we got to see more into John Matthew (I’ve been waiting for the book based off him, I like his character to.) and Xhex as well. She is such a hard ass but I enjoy her character. She is troubled as well and I am excited to explore and go more into her character in the next book.

I’m going to be honest, I didn’t enjoy the Lesser parts as much as the other parts. (Although that was because I wanted to know what the heck was going on with everyone else.) But I can’t wait to see what goes down with Lash and John Matthew.

I gave this book a 4/5. It isn’t a perfect book, but I did really like it.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Author Info: Website / Buy from B&N

“J.R. Ward is a New York Times and USA Today Best Selling author of erotic paranormal romance. She lives in the south with her incredibly supportive husband and her beloved golden retriever. After graduating from law school, she began working in healthcare in Boston and spent many years as Chief of Staff of one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation. Writing has always been her passion and her idea of heaven is a whole day of nothing but her computer, her dog and her coffee pot.

Under her maiden name, Jessica Bird, she writes contemporary romance novels”

-Goodreads

Series:  Black Dagger Brotherhood #7

Other Books By Author:

Fallen Angels Series

Format: Hardback, Paperbackswap

In My Mailbox (6) Oct ’12

Standard

“In My Mailbox” is a meme hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren that allows book bloggers to share the books they’ve received in the past week. They can be your own purchases, borrowed from friends, library checkouts, from publishers, won from a contest, etc.”

Ashes

By Ilsa J. Bick. I’ve been wanted to get my hands on this for awhile. Happy I finally have a copy. Will hopefully read this soon.

It could happen tomorrow . . .

An electromagnetic pulse flashes across the sky, destroying every electronic device, wiping out every computerized system, and killing billions.

Alex hiked into the woods to say good-bye to her dead parents and her personal demons. Now desperate to find out what happened after the pulse crushes her to the ground, Alex meets up with Tom—a young soldier—and Ellie, a girl whose grandfather was killed by the EMP.

For this improvised family and the others who are spared, it’s now a question of who can be trusted and who is no longer human.

Author Ilsa J. Bick crafts a terrifying and thrilling novel about a world that could be ours at any moment, where those left standing must learn what it means not just to survive, but to live amidst the devastation.

Rot and Ruin

By Jonathan Mayberry. Heard some good things. Been wanted another zombie book to read.

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn’t want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human.

The Sky Is Everywhere

By Jandy Nelson. I’ve read wonderful reviews about this book. The synopsis sounds great. Can’t wait to read this.

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Hit List (Adult)

By Laurell K. Hamilton. #20 in the Anita Blake series. Yes, I have read all previous books. I am currently reading Bullet which I am enjoying so far.

Watch a video
A serial killer is hunting the Pacific Northwest, murdering victims in a gruesome and spectacular way. The local police suspect “monsters” are involved, and have called in Anita Blake and Edward, U.S. Marshals who really know their monsters, to catch the killer.

In My Mailbox (5) May ’12

Standard

“In My Mailbox” is a meme hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren that allows book bloggers to share the books they’ve received in the past week. They can be your own purchases, borrowed from friends, library checkouts, from publishers, won from a contest, etc.”

Nightshade

by Andrea Kremer. I bought this book from Barnes and Noble with a gift card that I got for Christmas. I’ve heard good things about this series so I thought I would give it a try.

DarkFever (Adult)

by Karen Marie Moning. I’ve heard good things about this series from my romance blogging friends.

Wicked & Son of a Witch

by Gregory Maquire. I’ve seen & heard about this series for awhile, and I found it for about three dollars each. Figured I couldn’t go wrong.

The Virgin Lover

by Philippa Gregory. I love this period in history and I’ve been watching shows and reading about it for awhile. I’ve heard good things about Gregory’s writing so I’m looking forward to reading some of her books.

The Kite Runner

by Khaled Hosseini. I’ve been planning on getting this book for awhile and found it for about four dollars and bought it.

Fahrenheit 451

by Ray Bradbury. I found it at an old bookstore, I loved the bookstore and plan on going back. Excited to finally have a copy of this book and plan on reading it sometime this year.