Tag Archives: Laurell K Hamilton

In My Mailbox (6) Oct ’12

Standard

“In My Mailbox” is a meme hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren that allows book bloggers to share the books they’ve received in the past week. They can be your own purchases, borrowed from friends, library checkouts, from publishers, won from a contest, etc.”

Ashes

By Ilsa J. Bick. I’ve been wanted to get my hands on this for awhile. Happy I finally have a copy. Will hopefully read this soon.

It could happen tomorrow . . .

An electromagnetic pulse flashes across the sky, destroying every electronic device, wiping out every computerized system, and killing billions.

Alex hiked into the woods to say good-bye to her dead parents and her personal demons. Now desperate to find out what happened after the pulse crushes her to the ground, Alex meets up with Tom—a young soldier—and Ellie, a girl whose grandfather was killed by the EMP.

For this improvised family and the others who are spared, it’s now a question of who can be trusted and who is no longer human.

Author Ilsa J. Bick crafts a terrifying and thrilling novel about a world that could be ours at any moment, where those left standing must learn what it means not just to survive, but to live amidst the devastation.

Rot and Ruin

By Jonathan Mayberry. Heard some good things. Been wanted another zombie book to read.

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn’t want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human.

The Sky Is Everywhere

By Jandy Nelson. I’ve read wonderful reviews about this book. The synopsis sounds great. Can’t wait to read this.

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Hit List (Adult)

By Laurell K. Hamilton. #20 in the Anita Blake series. Yes, I have read all previous books. I am currently reading Bullet which I am enjoying so far.

Watch a video
A serial killer is hunting the Pacific Northwest, murdering victims in a gruesome and spectacular way. The local police suspect “monsters” are involved, and have called in Anita Blake and Edward, U.S. Marshals who really know their monsters, to catch the killer.

Advertisements

Currently Reading!

Standard

So I haven’t posted in awhile with what I’ve been reading or how I’ve been liking the books. So I thought I would talk about it for a bit today. If you’ve been stalking my goodreads you will know that I am “currently reading” 12 books. I know this is a crazy number but some of the books I have put on hold or hiatus or whatever you would like to call it. And about five of them I am actually “currently reading.”

————————————————————————————————————————————————————
But I would like to discuss 3 in particular that have really been holding my attention lately. The first is Blink Once, I started this very recently and I like how it’s started. I hadn’t read the synopsis in awhile so I almost started the book blind in a way. Sometimes I like to start a book knowing nothing about it. It can be surprising and I like to be surprised in a book. It’s a totally different experience to read a book when you know next to nothing about it. So far I’m enjoying it and can’t wait to get farther into it.

————————————————————————————————————————————————————
The second book is Random Magic. And it is that, random and full of magic. I find myself laughing and tilting my head countless times since starting the book. So many different characters and things going on in the book. I also find myself wanting to munch on something. That may be partly due to the fact that food is mentioned every now and then in the book. This book really is quite an adventure.

————————————————————————————————————————————————————

And lastly for today I would like to mention Bullet by Laurell K. Hamilton. I know, I know. Alot of people have given up on the series by now, actually alot of people gave up awhile ago. But I keep getting sucked back into the story and the characters. I normally will read 3 or 4 in the series back to back and then I will take a break and read something else. I think that is why I’m still in it with this series. I love the writing, while some of the books storylines could have been a bit better. I keep coming back to all the magical-ness that is in the Anita Blake series. I can’t help but need to get my Anita Blake fix.