BBAW – Interview!

Standard

Welcome to Book Blogger Appreciation Week– 2012!

Here with me today is Suzanne (bibliosue). Before I get started with the questioning I would like Suzanne to tell us a little something about herself.

“I’ve been blogging for almost three years now.  I blog just as a hobby and for the opportunity to express my thoughts about what I’ve been reading.

My reading tastes are rather eclectic – I enjoy reading both fiction and non-fiction; about topics ranging from history and current affairs to food and pop culture and everything in between.
My dream job would be something that would allow me to be paid to read and travel.”
Now I shall continue on with my questioning!
  1. What is your favorite author? YA & Adult and why?   YA is a genre that I know little about so I can’t claim to have a favorite author there, but my favorite “Adult” authors include Margaret Atwood (because she is just amazing), Nick Hornby (because he writes simply yet powerfully), and A.J. Jacobs (who is funny and always teaches me something).  I will read anything that these authors write.
  2. Your favorite stand alone novel & series? And why?   Stand-alone novel:  This changes regularly, but right now I’m singing the praises of Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks.  It is an original story and packs such an emotional wallop.  I don’t read many series, but I have enjoyed the 44 Scotland Street novels by Alexander McCall Smith, though I think I’m a few books behind.
  3. Book/Series you wish you could live in?   I wish I could live in any book that is set in Paris.
  4. Book/Series that got you into reading?   This is going to date me, but the Bobbsey Twins mysteries were candy to my 6 year-old brain. I don’t even know if they are around any more, but they were great.
  5. Paperback or Hardback or Audiobook or E-book?   Yes.  Though I have trouble with fiction in audiobook format.
  6. Who are your favorite bloggers or vloggers and why? (Up to 5)   Leeswammes, because she and I have similar reading tastes and I have learned of some great books thanks to her; Dead White Guys, because it is an accessible and witty guide to the classics of literature.
  7. If you were trapped on an island and could only bring five books with you, which would you bring?   The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry, The Diary of Anne Frank, and In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust (only because if I am trapped on an island it will give me the time and solitude required to properly read it

And that’s it! Thanks so much Suzanne for sharing your time with me, and thanks to everyone who has taken the time to organize the event and the many readers who give their time as well.

One response »

Leave a Reply

