Zero by Tom Leveen (ARE)

Standard

Zero by Tom Leveen

Pages: 304

YA novel

Format: Ebook courtesy of NetGalley

Rating: 4 stars

Standalone novel

Add to Goodreads

“For aspiring artist Amanda Walsh, who only half-jokingly goes by the nickname Zero, the summer before college was supposed to be fun—plain and simple. Hanging out with her best friend Jenn, going to clubs, painting, and counting down the days until her escape. But when must-have scholarship money doesn’t materialize, and she has a falling out with Jenn that can only be described as majorly awkward, and Zero’s parents relationship goes from tense to relentless fighting, her prospects start looking as bleak and surreal as a painting by her idol Salvador Dali. Will life truly imitate art? Will her new, unexpected relationship with a punk skater boy who seems too good to be real and support from the unlikeliest of sources show Zero that she’s so much more than a name.”

 

 

Probably my favorite contemporary so far. If you enjoy contemporary novels, pick this one up. The characters overall I enjoyed. Sometimes Zero’s angst was a bit much and sometimes I felt she said the same thing to many times. Example ” Later, skater” It was appropriate at times and others…not so much. But other than that I liked Zero. Boy angst worked, girl angst…not so much.  She learned something about herself and her life in the end. I didn’t like her dad but that may just be because he is a drunk. The best friend, I wanted more from her! I loved the plot line that was going on between her and Zero. What I liked the most is that the story is believable.

Something I want to point on in this book is, the sex scenes were more detailed than I expected for a YA novel. I’m not sure which range of YA he was aiming for…

But! Score points for Leveen – No Insta-Love!

Sometimes the art metaphors were a bit overwhelming. I like but I don’t know enough about it.

Sad? It had its moments. It definitely had potential to be a a way more sad book.

Overall I give the book four stars. I enjoyed the book and was happy with the ending and happy overall with the characters. The story was believable.

Leave a Reply

