Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Standard

Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Young Adult – Stand Alone

245 Pages

3 Stars

Published March 17th 2009 by Pocket Books/MTV Books

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

“HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO?

All Meg has ever wanted is to get away. Away from high school. Away from her backwater town. Away from her parents who seem determined to keep her imprisoned in their dead-end lives. But one crazy evening involving a dare and forbidden railroad tracks, she goes way too far…and almost doesn’t make it back.

John made a choice to stay. To enforce the rules. To serve and protect. He has nothing but contempt for what he sees as childish rebellion, and he wants to teach Meg a lesson she won’t soon forget. But Meg pushes him to the limit by questioning everything he learned at the police academy. And when he pushes back, demanding to know why she won’t be tied down, they will drive each other to the edge — and over….”

My first book by Jennifer Echols, I enjoyed it more than I expected. The cover looked like other Young Adult contemporary novels, but I did enjoy this novel.

Meg’s angst is really explained towards the end of the book and I was surprised. (which doesn’t happen often) I love that she had blue hair, why? I have no idea. I really felt for Meg, but I also felt for John (another surprise twist, although I guessed that part.) He overall was a nice character as well, Makes me want to find myself a copper. ;] As for side characters, they worked for the story. Tiffany made me laugh sometimes, and I really just wanted to smack Eric, but then again so did people in the book.

The pacing in the book was fine, I wish it moved a bit faster but it wasn’t too terribly bad. The last 50 or so pages were a nice pace and I read the last 100 pages in an afternoon, I couldn’t put it down. Things were heating up and attitudes were flaring. And then it ended and I was relieved the way it ended.

Overall as I said in the beginning I enjoyed the book. I mean cops, parties, blue haired girls, jealousy and more packed into a 245 page book, what more do you want? I give this book a three, if you are into contemporary and have not read it yet then I suggest you pick it up.

3 responses »

  1. I have REALLY been wanting to read a Jennifer Echols book. Glad to hear you enjoyed it…I wonder if any of her other books are better though!
    I want to read Love Story because it takes place in KY where I live 🙂

    I LOVE what you have done with your blog, and I am following by email now…which I thought I already was, but it must have been via GFC before it went away or something…
    anyways, love ya girly!

    • I really liked her writing style, but it’s the only Jennifer Echols book I have read. The synopsis for Love Story sounds good. Haha what’s KY like?

      And Thank You! It’s still a work in progress, my friend and I were working on the background last night. =] Finally got it up.
      Awww ❤ Thanks hun.
      And since you mentioned that I will have to double check that I'm still following yours. ;]

  2. Pingback: January Wrap Up « TheBookBunny

Leave a Reply

