Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann

Standard

Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann

Hardcover, 233 pages
Published February 8th 2011 by Simon Pulse

“The community of Cryer’s Cross, Montana (population 212) is distraught when high school freshman Tiffany disappears without a trace. Already off-balance due to her OCD, 16-year-old Kendall is freaked out seeing Tiffany’s empty desk in the one-room school house, but somehow life goes on… until Kendall’s boyfriend Nico also disappears, and also without a trace. Now the town is in a panic. Alone in her depression and with her OCD at an all-time high, Kendall notices something that connects Nico and Tiffany: they both sat at the same desk. She knows it’s crazy, but Kendall finds herself drawn to the desk, dreaming of Nico and wondering if maybe she, too, will disappear…and whether that would be so bad. Then she begins receiving graffiti messages on the desk from someone who can only be Nico. Can he possibly be alive somewhere? Where is he? And how can Kendall help him? The only person who believes her is Jacian, the new guy she finds irritating…and attractive. As Kendall and Jacian grow closer, Kendall digs deeper into Nico’s mysterious disappearance only to stumble upon some ugly—and deadly—local history. Kendall is about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried.”

 

 

One of the first books that I have read in a day in a long time. (I am a super slow reader.) I was rather skeptical about this book because I could not get into Gone which is another book by Lisa McMann. I am so glad I picked up this book. This was a quick read but I couldn’t put it down. The plot kept moving and things kept getting more intense.

I really enjoyed Kendall’s characters, the OCD really added something unique to her character, and the story. You really felt her anguish over the missing students, and especially her best friend. Jacian is another wonderful character in the story, you really get a feel for him and I liked that. I really connected with the characters in this novel.

Also, it is nice that it is a stand alone novel, series tend to be the trend right now and it was nice to break up all the series I’ve been reading with a stand alone.

I am only giving this book a four because I have read a book similar but it was fairly close to a five with me. I definitely recommend it to people who want a quick and chilling read.

Lisa McMann’s Website: here

Buy from: B&N

Check out the Trailer! I think it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

