Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Standard

Hardcover, 471 pages

Published October 1st 2008 by Harcourt Children’s Books

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight—she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change. She never expects to become Po’s friend. She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace—or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away . . . a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone.

So, to start off. I loved the storyline and the world that Cashore created. However, I felt that it was missing something. I loved the seven kingdoms, and the idea of Graces and the whole two colored eye aspect..but I don’t know. I wish certain things were explained a little more at parts.  I think Cashore made the book a bit to ‘anti men’, anything girly or related to marriage is bad. It didn’t bother me to much because I love the storyline but it was noticeable. I liked Po’s character, I feel like he grew with Katsa. The relationship was a bit to abrupt but that happens sometimes. I’m not sure how I felt about Bitterblue, she was just there. The “villian” only presented himself twice in the book, and when he did it was brief. I wish the confrontation had been a bit different…maybe even more dramatic, or detailed and explained. Something.

I loved the ending, and I won’t spoil anything so you will have to read the book to know what I’m talking about. The pace of the book was good and sometimes fair. It is a good first novel, and I liked the language but sometimes I felt like the character wasn’t in character. Or not as much of the language during one chapter as in the next. Maybe it was just me.

 I like the cover but I wouldn’t say that I love it. (I tend to be picky when it comes to covers.)

I picked this book up at the library, I had no idea what the book was about and I hadn’t read any reviews so I wasn’t expecting anything. I’m kind of glad I didn’t know anything about this book. I don’t think I would have liked it as much if I had high hopes for it going into it. I really do like this book and I will be continuing with the series. I give this book a 3 out of 5.

“KRISTIN CASHORE has written for The Horn Book Guide, The Looking Glass: An Online Children’s Literature Journal, and Children’s Literature in Education. She received a master’s degree in children’s literature from Simmons College. Graceling is Ms.Cashore’s first novel. She lives in Jacksonville, Florida.” – B&N

Graceling (The Seven Kingdoms #1)   byKristin Cashore
Fire (The Seven Kingdoms #2)   byKristin Cashore
Bitterblue (The Seven Kingdoms #3)  by Kristin Cashore

Leave a Reply

