Abandon by Meg Cabot

Standard

Hardcover, 304 pages

Published April 26th 2011 by Point

“Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back. 

But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid. 

Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away… especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most. 

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.”

My Thoughts.
First off, I need to say that I love mythology. From any area of the world but especially Greek and Roman. I’ve seen a lot of story re-tellings lately but this is the first one I’ve read. I liked it, as with every book some things get on my nerves a bit. But with this one it wasn’t too bad, or enough annoyance that I had to put the book down.

Before I get into the plot and characters, I love this cover. Normally people on covers bother me (Unless they are done really well) but I like the floral sort of design on the cover. I think the idea of quoting on each chapter was nice but sometimes the chapter had nothing to do with what was actually in the chapter. As well as on the cover, the floral like design was on the first page of every chapter as well and that was a nice touch.

The characters…Pierce who obviously is the main character, I felt like she did not really develop, and at times was rather whiny but that’s okay. John on the other hand is a fictional hunk of man candy. But all joking aside I do think that he could have been a little bit more explained and developed than he was. All the side characters were each only briefly in the story. You had the typical prep group, the two outsiders. But you never really got to know who that character was. I felt like for a 300 page novel it could have gone a lot farther.

I love mythology as I said, and the storyline was interesting. Persephone and Hades and their oddball relationship. (I’ve always loved Persephone) The relationship between Pierce and John was nothing and then everything in about two seconds. It could have been built up gradually, not just BAM! I love youuuu. I’m really trying not to nit pick this book but I tend to over analyse things sometimes. I did enjoy this book. I love the plot direction, and I love John as a character, I want to know more about him. I will be continuing this series, Meg Cabot made the story sort of become her own. She added some differences from the original story and I enjoyed it. This was my first Meg Cabot book and will not be my last. 3 Stars.

Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2)
The second book in the Abandon Trilogy. Be sure to check out these books.

Leave a Reply

