Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Standard

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
“Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that?

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. Not for her license — for turning pretty. In Tally’s world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.
But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to be pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world — and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.”
 –GoodReads

My Review
Okay, so first let me start off that I read this awhile ago. But I felt that this really should be my first review since this is the book/series that really got me into reading. (Hence why I always blame Scott Westerfeld for my reading obsession. Not that it’s a bad thing, and blame is the wrong word. If I met him I would love to thank him.)

So “Uglies” is about Tally Youngblood a girl who is about to turn sixteen. But when you turn sixteen you undergo surgery. It makes you “pretty” in every sense of the word. But not everyone wants to be
“pretty.” Tally meets Shay a girl who doesn’t want to be pretty, Shay tries to take Tally with her but she won’t go. “Specials” which are the authorities give Tally an ultimatum. Find Shay and turn her and everyone with her in or Tally will never receive the surgery to make her pretty. 

Why I chose to read this book
Well, honestly it was on a whim. I first read this book in…I want to say 7th or 8th grade. My friends all thought the cover was weird and the story was going to be even more bizarre. I was proven so wrong. I fully enjoyed this book. I still rave about it today.

My Rating

I think the pace was just right and the ending left me wanting more.  I give this a 5/5. Not many books I would re-read simply for the fact that there are so many in the world and I want to read as many as I can. But I will be re-reading this one.

Scott Westerfeld

Website
Twitter Username

Scott Westerfeld is a New York Times bestselling American-born author of YA sci-fi literature. He was born in the Texas and now lives in Sydney and New York City. In 2001, Westerfeld married fellow author Justine Larbalestier.

His book Evolution’s Darling was a New York Times Notable Book, and won a Special Citation for the 2000 Philip K. Dick Award. So Yesterday won a Victorian Premier’s Award and Midnighters 1: The Secret Hour won an Aurealis Award. Peeps and Uglies were both named as Best Books for Young Adults 2006 by the American Library Association. 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: BBAW Interview: Meet The Book Bunny | bibliosue

Leave a Reply

